top of page

Sausage, Beans, & Rice | EASY ONE POT WEEKNIGHT DINNER

Hello!

Today I'm sharing one of the easiest and most delicious recipes! I promise it's true, even though every recipe I've ever seen claims the same thing, but this recipe has THREE INGREDIENTS and uses ONE POT.

I think my mom must have invented this meal, and now I've changed it up just a little bit. She used pinto beans, but I like to use kidney beans. I also like to add brown rice and make it a bit more spicy. You can basically use this as a base recipe and add in whatever you like!

2 cans dark red kidney beans

2 cups instant rice (made according to box directions)

*You can also use 1 package of the instant microwavable rice

4 sausage links, cut into circles

salt, pepper, & seasoning to taste

This is our favorite sausage! It's already cooked, so you only have to brown it to get that aromatic flavor, and it has no nitrates, so I feel better about eating it.

Cut sausage into circles.

Add 2 teaspoons of oil to a dutch oven & heat to medium-high.

Add sausage & cook until edges are brown (but not burned).

Add 2 cans of kidney beans to pot & stir to combine.

Lower heat to medium-low.

Fill one bean can with water & add to pot.

Let this mixture simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally so beans do not stick.

Add cooked rice to pot & stir.

*You can also keep the rice separate and add as much as you want to your individual bowl.

That's it! One of my favorite things about this recipe is that you get the extra flavor from the sausage as you brown it. That all stays in the pot and adds to the whole meal. You can eat this alone or you could add a hot slice of garlic bread or a piece of cornbread.

I would love to know your thoughts if you decide to make this. I promise it is just as easy and delicious as it looks!

bottom of page